How to Join
the Fashion Spot / the Style Spot / Personal Style / Workshop - DIY - Do it yourself
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

16-09-2005
More Old Skool Than You

Here's a magazine cover I did...
I have an online class, the history of graphic design, as I'm studying graphic design now.

I did a quick cover about the effect war has on music. I got this idea listening to Jimi Hendrix and I was thinking about how we now have songs that just bitch about the President and what he's doing, and how that influences the way people think. And usually it's the same people that act like they don't like the media, except when it's on their side. But we all use information to our advantage, right?

Anyway, I love Jimi Hendrix's song "Machine Gun". It's off the Band of Gypsys album, 1970. I like it because he's not bitching. He's describing a scene, and you're free to make up your own opinions of the war. Hendrix was also a member of the 101st Airborne division of the US Army, and the song was dedicated to the soldiers at the time. It reminds me of the Woodstock performance of the "Star Spangled Banner", and how he tore it apart and even played "Taps". I see it as a representation of how the country was torn apart, but still respected the sacrifices of those defending people they never met, in a country they never knew.

So here it is. I appreciate ANY kind of criticism.

Last edited by fourboltmain; 16-09-2005 at 05:30 AM.

16-09-2005
V.I.P.

I know nothing about graphic design,but I did grow up in that era and I think your cover displays some of the feelings about the Vietnam war that was going on at that time.

16-09-2005
V.I.P.

AWESOME

Oh how I would LOVE to actually see that covered in that rag...

16-09-2005
trendsetter