How to Join
the Fashion Spot / the Information Spot / Member Support & Feedback
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
20-02-2009
  31
V.I.P.
 
vogue28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Gender: homme
Posts: 16,775
I just purchased an Epson Stylus SX405.. does anybody else have this scanner?

__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
 
21-02-2009
  32
V.I.P.
 
vogue28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Gender: homme
Posts: 16,775
When I scan a magazine cover which has fluorescent colour text. The text always has a different colour. It is always a more softer colour.. does anyone have any tips on how to change this?

__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
21-02-2009
  33
The future is stupid
 
MissMagAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Gender: femme
Posts: 25,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by vogue28 View Post
When I scan a magazine cover which has fluorescent colour text. The text always has a different colour. It is always a more softer colour.. does anyone have any tips on how to change this?

Interesting question since a fluorescent colour is a spot colour and can't be made from CMYK or RGB. You might try increasing the saturation to make the color appear more vivid.

__________________
Love is what you want.

  Reply With Quote
21-02-2009
  34
V.I.P.
 
vogue28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Gender: homme
Posts: 16,775
I tried that and the whole cover went weird..
I think I just need to play around with the settings or something..

__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
15-05-2009
  35
front row
 
designerleather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Gender: homme
Posts: 393
Couple of things...

Stay away from some of the HP scanners. I picked up a HP ScanJet G4010 a few months ago because my Epson was failing and was psyched because the scanner had 6-color, 96-bit scanning. I thought... SWEET... means less color correction for me...

Problem is, this scanner relies on PHYSICAL MEMORY... and this means that there are caps on image sizes. I am lucky if can get 200 DPI 8x10 images out of this thing. Maybe I am missing something, but teh more research I was doing, I was seeing others complaining this as well.

By contrast, I have an older Epson GT10000 which I love. Sucks that I still have to have a SCSI card, but especially with Euro mags... Being able to scan larger, A3 images is key. It is an older scanner, only 36-bit color I believe, but I can scan 600 even 1200 dpi and descreen and generate huge images.

Another piece as well. Some better scanning software does wonders as well. SilverFast or ArtScan offer a ton more features than a lot of the out of the box drivers, but have a learning curve as well

  Reply With Quote
11-07-2009
  36
V.I.P.
 
*Bianca*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Gender: femme
Posts: 25,811
Does anyone have a Brother scanner?

I recently bought the MFC-490CW
but can't work out how to descreen images?!

Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
13-07-2009
  37
V.I.P.
 
*Bianca*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Gender: femme
Posts: 25,811
Does anyone know any scanning software I can download that includes descreen? I can't tell you how angry I am to have bought a new scanner without this function available I primarily bought this for magazines, and the quality is just laughable... what a waste of $$. I can't believe they make them without a descreen option!?

Designerleather, do you know if SilverFast or ArtScan can be used with any brand of scanner?


Last edited by *Bianca*; 13-07-2009 at 08:08 AM.
Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
13-07-2009
  38
V.I.P.
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sur la plage
Gender: homme
Posts: 7,418
^Can't you take it back to them & get your money back? Best brands for scanners are HP & Canon imo.

  Reply With Quote
14-07-2009
  39
front row
 
designerleather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Gender: homme
Posts: 393
I looked up on both SilverFast and Art-Scan's websites and it appears that neither supports Brother scanners.

I have tended to like Epson, though their color reproduction sometimes takes a hit.

My problem with HP is scanners like the G4010 while it claims 96-bit scanning, it is LIMITED to PHYSICAL MEMORY... so though I can scan at 96-bits, even with 3GB of Ram, if you want to do ANY POST processing (dust and scratch removal, de-screening) the image size you can scan is TINY.

I think this may be a limitation of the HP Driver, but like your Brother, it is not supported by a lot of 3rd part software. Latest Version of Art-Scan does not function with my HP, though if I had paid about $40 more, the G4050 is supported by Silverfast.

All and all I find Art-Scan easier to use than SilverFast. Silverfast really is the far more powerful tool, but for me, a lot of this is scanning quickly and efficiently.

The word to the wise, sometimes it is better to check first: http://www.art-scan.com/scanners.html

I have also found that I prefer getting to know how to use software like Art-Scan and Silverfast so as my scanning hardware changes over the years, I don't get stuck with bundled software that does not do things like de-screen.

Another option, if you are a photoshop user is something like the Descreen plug-in:

http://www.descreen.net/eng/soft/descreen/descreen.htm

Haven't really used it, but might help you out removing moire and other artifacts.

  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  40
backstage pass
 
Dark Noire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Gender: homme
Posts: 731
Tips & Tricks
I have a question, how do you guys scan really big images that doesn't fit in your scanner using photoshop?

  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  41
V.I.P.
 
nothingless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bal Feirste
Gender: femme
Posts: 5,894
I scan it in fours (if it fits that way) - upper left, upper right, bottom left, bottom right, and then just stitch the four parts together in Photoshop: make a canvas big enough for the entire image, put all 4 scans into the right corners, and then spend about an hour lining them up exactly lol.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  42
front row
 
designerleather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Gender: homme
Posts: 393
Even better... Get an A3 scanner. How many things do you have to scan that are larger than 11"x17"?

I used to do the line up in twos or fours and would drive me insane

  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  43
V.I.P.
 
vogue28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Gender: homme
Posts: 16,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothingless View Post
I scan it in fours (if it fits that way) - upper left, upper right, bottom left, bottom right, and then just stitch the four parts together in Photoshop: make a canvas big enough for the entire image, put all 4 scans into the right corners, and then spend about an hour lining them up exactly lol.
I do that as well.

__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  44
V.I.P.
 
nothingless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bal Feirste
Gender: femme
Posts: 5,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by designerleather View Post
Even better... Get an A3 scanner. How many things do you have to scan that are larger than 11"x17"?

I used to do the line up in twos or fours and would drive me insane
If only I had the cash for one lol!! I don't know about most of you - but I couldn't afford to buy a brand new A3 scanner when my good-quality A4 one is still working fine. Jealous of you!

__________________
  Reply With Quote
24-08-2009
  45
front row
 
designerleather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Gender: homme
Posts: 393
^ You can often look at office clear outs. I paid $125 for my Epson GT-10000.

The one good thing about a recession/depression is with so many business going under, you can get a steal on a lot of office electronics.

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Tags
scanner, scanning, tips, tricks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

monitoring_string = "058526dd2635cb6818386bfd373b82a4"


 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
TheFashionSpot.com is a property of TotallyHer Media, LLC, an Evolve Media LLC company. 2014 All rights reserved.