How to Join
the Fashion Spot / Front Row / Trend Spotting
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

04-08-2005
rising star

Hobo and boho ... and the difference is?
Hey, this is my first forum posting here. I am a fashion student in New Zealand and have recently been reading the word HOBO a lot. At first I thought that it was boho spelt wrong, but apparently not. Can somebody please tell me what the difference is?
ANd what the trends entail exactly?
I will be very grateful as this is for an assignment.

04-08-2005
backstage pass

A hobo is a homeless person.

So they're basically wearing a slop of old dirty clothes of whatever they can find and obviously not wearing clothes in order to look good.

04-08-2005
trendsetter

i don't think hobo is a trend. it seems to me more likely that this expression is used to depreciate the boho-look. (especially if the person looks too careless concerning his outfit: wearing old, damaged or filthy clothes, clothes that don't have the right size, lots of layers that don't match... just like a homeless person probably would.)

04-08-2005
offline.

Hobo is a type of bag style.

04-08-2005
V.I.P.

Boho is when you paid a lot of money for it.

04-08-2005
rising star

thanks guys, i appreciate your help... so i acn be glad that the hobo trend is not heard of in NZ

04-08-2005
windowshopping

the hobo look is already widespread in certain art schools and communities.

also, after a few days of not wearing deodorant i think your body balances out the stench. unfortunately, i'm not speaking from experience, just from stories that have been passed down...

Last edited by bryne; 04-08-2005 at 02:02 AM.
04-08-2005
rising star

Does anyone know where the names hobo and boho came from? Whicg came 1st? Thanx

04-08-2005
ingenue

we already have threads on these topics:

hippie and boho: http://www.thefashionspot.com/forums...highlight=hobo

bobo: http://www.thefashionspot.com/forums...highlight=hobo