Go Back   the Fashion Spot > the Finishing Touches > Handbags
Home Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Links FAQ Members List Community Rules
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2005   #1426
trendsetter

koukanamiya's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,120

Another thing ... Buying designer items from a website is extremely risky. I know that I will not buy anything from a website that is selling Hermes, Tiffany's, or Louis Vuitton at way below retail prices if they claim that they get to sell these for cheap due to "factory rejects" or "wholesale". LV, Tiffany, and Hermes do not do wholesales. So if a website is selling fakes of one brand, there's also a likelihood that they're selling fakes on all the other brands that they carry.
 

Old 05-10-2005   #1427
backstage pass

z.cesca's Avatar
Profile: 
Location: Miami
Gender: femme
Posts: 619

Quote:
Originally Posted by koukanamiya
Another thing ... Buying designer items from a website is extremely risky. I know that I will not buy anything from a website that is selling Hermes, Tiffany's, or Louis Vuitton at way below retail prices if they claim that they get to sell these for cheap due to "factory rejects" or "wholesale". LV, Tiffany, and Hermes do not do wholesales. So if a website is selling fakes of one brand, there's also a likelihood that they're selling fakes on all the other brands that they carry.
That's what I thought! I was trying to explain to my friends that a LOT of people have "official" sites that sell bags as "authentic" and they aren't! I had actually browsed leshanta.com for one friend and then this other friend asked me about pouchette.com... I started looking and I was like whaaaaaaaat? These sites are IDENTICAL! Thanks for your help!!!
__________________
"If you can't laugh at yourself, life's gonna seem a whole lot longer than you like."
 
Old 05-10-2005   #1428
trendsetter

koukanamiya's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,120

Quote:
Originally Posted by z.cesca
That's what I thought! I was trying to explain to my friends that a LOT of people have "official" sites that sell bags as "authentic" and they aren't! I had actually browsed leshanta.com for one friend and then this other friend asked me about pouchette.com... I started looking and I was like whaaaaaaaat? These sites are IDENTICAL! Thanks for your help!!!
You're very welcome . I typically buy my purses and designer items directly from the source. If I have to result to buying on eBay, I always make sure I pay via Paypal with a credit card and have something in writing from the seller guaranteeing that I can return the item for a refund should there be any authenticity issues. Also, you should probably stay away from sellers or websites that say they will only give you a refund if you have "written authentications". Most designer houses don't do written authentications due to the legal liability and responsibilities that come with it.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1429
scenester
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 64

styledrops.com 's balenciaga looks really authentic to me what do u guys think?
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1430
trendsetter

koukanamiya's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,120

Quote:
Originally Posted by tammy_january
styledrops.com 's balenciaga looks really authentic to me what do u guys think?
I think those are authentic ... But the thing is with buying from online websites you never know. It looks like they're selling styles from last season and the pricing is about right. Also, the leather on the purse is much more distressed without that fake sheen. So, I think there's a good likelihood that they MAY be real.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1431
trendsetter

legaldiva's Avatar
Profile: 
Location: ... in pursuit of justice.
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,144

The wait list for Fendi spy bags is going pretty quickly. Call the Barney's in Beverly (Center/Hills?) and ask for John. He got me mine in less than two weeks or so. Cognac--it's absolutely GORGEOUS.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1432
front row

beb415's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 208

Hello everyone! Can someone please tell me if this ivory paddy is authentic. Ebay #: 6807365514
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1433
front row

izze's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 312

^ That one looks authentic to me.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1434
trendsetter

esile's Avatar
Profile: 
Location: cloud 9
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,440

i agree... it looks authentic.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1435
backstage pass
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 875

Quote:
Originally Posted by beb415
Hello everyone! Can someone please tell me if this ivory paddy is authentic. Ebay #: 6807365514
Its authentic.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1436
backstage pass

Yasmin's Avatar
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 732

At a consignment shop today,

I saw a bright pink Prada croc skin bag for about 90 CAN (that is like 75 US?) and a Lous Vuitton "Speedy" (I think that's what it's called) long hard black bag with the vertical line etching, for about $130 ($100 US?) That seems low for a used version of the real deal, don't you think? But I wasn't sure what to look for to tell if they were fakes. I did not even pay attention to the logoed LV stuff (and a Fendi one too.) A saleslady even said that the Chanel 2.55 was fake (I did not see the price for it though)

Last edited by Yasmin : 06-10-2005 at 10:36 PM.
 
Old 06-10-2005   #1437
windowshopping
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 8

How about this LV cherry pouchette?












Any and all help will be very appreciated!!!
 
Old 07-10-2005   #1438
trendsetter

esile's Avatar
Profile: 
Location: cloud 9
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,440

^ i'm no expert on the cherry line... but this looks authentic. the cherry pattern is consistent with the authentic ones i've seen. try comparing the layout of the cherries to other ones.

.... i looked at it again... does the LV look off centered?... i know that the LV pattern should be absolutely symmetrical on authentic louis...
now, i'm not sure?

Last edited by esile : 07-10-2005 at 12:32 AM.
 
Old 07-10-2005   #1439
windowshopping
Profile: 
Gender: femme
Posts: 8

^ I thought the same, but I also sent those pics to my friend, who has that piece (I was with her when I bought it auctally), and told me her's looks exactly the same
 
Old 07-10-2005   #1440
trendsetter

esile's Avatar
Profile: 
Location: cloud 9
Gender: femme
Posts: 1,440

so, hers has the off centered LV too? hmmm....
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
http://www.thefashionspot.com/terms