How to Join
the Fashion Spot / the Finishing Touches / Handbags
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join
Closed Thread

07-01-2006
front row

Hi all,

New to Paddingtons here and I don't own one but have always thought of them in the back of my mind. Never felt one or seen one IRL.

Sooo. I've gone and done it. I pre-ordered a whisky paddington from NM. I was just innocently browsing their handbag selection. I swear, my hands had a mind of their own. Next thing I know, I was already putting my CC back in my wallet.

Anyone already pre-ordered theirs on the NM site and already received it?

07-01-2006
scenester

I'm a newbie here too. If you want to see what are the latest colours for Spring/Summer 2006, you should visit the official Chloe website.

I just got myself the light blue (looks like grey) paddy from On Pedder, a high-end boutique in Singapore and Hong Kong. I scrutinised it and compared it with many pictures of the bag on eBay, just to satisfy my curiosity where the differences or rather give-aways would be. I have to say that the fakes are very well made, and not unless you have a genuine one and a fake one side by side to compare, it is not easy to tell one from the other.

Having said that, I have found a few key aspects worth looking at:-

1) Leather softness - the leather on the genuine paddy is super soft which makes it very very slouchy. Place the bag on the table and the whole bag 'collapses' The boutique manager confirmed that this is the best tell-tale sign. The fake ones then to sit up a little or a lot.

2) The engraving/embossing of the brand name Chloe, well the font really is alot more delicate and slimmer than the ones found on the fakes. This, you would not know unless you have the genuine one.

3) Check the zippers that they are made by YKK (zipper maker). There is engravings on them.

4) The stitching on the real thing - the thread is thicker