How to Join
the Fashion Spot / the Style Spot / Personal Style
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

07-10-2004
windowshopping

I have been applying for jobs for 2 months. All of which are high end positions where I meet or exceed the qualifications. Upon received my application package, employers are impressed and call wanting to invite me to interview in a hurry!

However, I never get past the first interview. These interviews usually consist of me and 4-6 executives at a table.

I sincerely think I am being poorly judged by my young appearance.
I am 24 years old and it is obvious to see me. I have tried wearing business casual to very nice suites. I am unable to find a way to make myself look older in appearance.

My grammar and intelligence exibits experience and knowledge. But my face is that of an 18 year old.

PLEASE HELP! How can I do my makeup to make me look older than I am? What should I be wearing? How can I gain 6 years on my appearance?

I'm sure at 30 I will want to look younger, but for now I need to add 6. Please help me.

Any suggestions would be wonderful.......and your help is greatly appreciated.

08-10-2004
front row

I feel for you, Missamanda. I'm also on a job hunt now (for an articling position in a law firm). Having always been told that I look young, I also feel a need to look more professional and competent in the workplace.

I think the key with make-up and clothes at interviews is to keep it simple and classic (to the point of being conservative). You'd want to make a good impression but not in a way that detracts from your skills and qualifications. If you wear too much make-up, you'd risk looking like a little girl dressed up in mommy's clothes.