How to Join
the Fashion Spot / the Style Spot / Personal Style
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

07-05-2007
front row

Mommy style
As a new stay at home mom, I'm trying to rebuild my wardrobe to go with my new casual lifestyle. I used to be a lawyer that worked all the time, so my closet is filled with great cashmere sweaters, pants, button down shirts, suits and high heel shoes. But those don't work so well with a 6 month old baby, so I now need to revamp my whole wardrobe. I'd love to see what other moms are wearing or what you would wear on a casual weekend!

08-05-2007
backstage pass

Jeans and khakis are great. Polos, tshirts (nothing frumpy!), layered with tanks and cardigans. Flattering, comfy, and stylish.

09-05-2007
front row

In my opinion, I wouldnt completely revamp my wardrobe. Then it's someone elses style. Stick to yours. I would say pair some of your pieces, even if they are a little dressy, with more casual ones. Like, trousers with plain tees. Sweater sets with jeans. You might only have to change your shoes. Get some flat knee hi boots that you can wear over or under your pants. Some ballet falts, sandals. Dresses might also be helpful since they eliminate having to buy a top and bottom.

backstage pass

I have a 10 year old son so I've been working on this for quite a while. All very good advice so far. I especially like the advice from PerfectPerfect to mix some of your dressier pieces with jeans, khakis, etc. This way you retain some of your identity and still look appropriate. I made the fatal mistake of thinking I had to dress more "Mom-like" for a few years and it wasn't good for my mental health.

Great fitting jeans have been my best friends as have good quality ballet flats and boots. A great handbag is worth it for a confidence and style booster. Since I'm no longer in the diaper bag stage my Birkin works well to stuff my son's books or jacket into.