How to Join
the Fashion Spot / Visualizing Fashion / Behind the Lens
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

09-11-2008
tfs star

Eric Guillemain - Photographer
One of the best model photographers obviously does deserve a thread. I didn't find one, so I guess it's time to start it.

myspace

A little autobiography from the Supermodels.nl website:
Quote:
In 2002 I decided to leave behind my life in Paris and move to New York to restart from zero.
I left the bookshop where I worked and my gig as lead singer in a band.

In 2003 I worked as a photographer's assistant learning the basics like how to change lenses and moving around some lights...

While working as an assistant I still maintained my involvement in music and continued to work on writing and singing.

In 2004 I bought my very first camera to shoot the cover art for the CD I was compiling.
With this camera I started having fun training my eye in the streets of New York.

In 2006 I decided to pursue photography as a career and began photographing models in my apartment.
I wanted the images to be as raw as could be. No hair, no make-up and barely any styling. I just wanted soul in daylight.

These series of portraits were called "Before Fashion". As a musician it was the equivalent of singing a capella with just an acoustic guitar. My only mission was to make the chemistry happen.

The model and I were two complete strangers with different histories but I was searching of some kind of unexpected magic emulsion to occur between us. I was looking for more than just a friendly connection.

In late 2006 I began working with Peter Lindbergh and shooting the behind the scene still.

I began showing my experimental portraits to close friends. They quickly encouraged me to submit some of these portraits to Surface Magazine.
Thankfully I listened to my friends because I ended up one of the winners of the 10th Avant Guardian Contest.

09-11-2008
tfs star

CREATIVE INSTINCT