How to Join
the Fashion Spot / Front Row / Careers, Education & the Business of Fashion
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Rules Links Mobile How to Join

13-06-2007
windowshopping

New Designers - Funding, Publicity and Marketing Your Line
Hey,

Im a young designer trying to market myself, i have a limited budget and need more ideas on how to get myself noticed.

I have already gone down the route of giving stylists i know free garments, im gaining abit of a following on myspace as well. Other things ive tried is giving free stuff out to boutiques and some magazine editiors. Ive been told to hire models to wear my stuff in clubs etc but does this really work?

Its hard work and i gave up everything to pursue this passion so if any of you have some good ideas on how i can get noticed please let me know!

13-06-2007
scenester

Have you tried hiring a PR rep or publicist? I'm freelancer who does a lot of fashion writing and most of the new designers I profile I find out about from PR agencies (I'm established enough that they send me press releases and let me know about new clients). You might be able to write up a press release or make a press kit yourself, or get a friend who's a good writer to help, and send it to local media outlets.

I also check Iqons for new stuff regularly, and keep up with the goings on of the fashion blogosphere (sometimes I'll come across cool new stuff that way).

14-06-2007
V.I.P.

Oak Jeans,

I'd just like to welcome you to the Fashion Spot.

And good topic! Hopefully you'll get some lots of input here . I don't have a lot more to offer thatn jaspin offered ... all excellent ideas.

15-06-2007
fashion insider

Have you tried actually selling your stuff? There is a website called etsy.com that's pretty much all independent designers. maybe you could start off small and get your myspace followers to go there and buy.

15-06-2007
windowshopping

My site
Hey