Atelier Versace Haute Couture S/S 2001

Wintergreen

Reaction score

I've uploaded this on YouTube for my fellow early aughts Versace lovers, as that show was nowhere to be found there. Enjoy!

Seriously, she deserved a standing ovation for that one.
Even to this day, i think that this is her best Atelier runway collection. Everything is flawless: the cast, the styling, the energy and THE CLOTHES!

I don't think that in Couture and particulary on the runway, she has been that adventurous in terms of techniques, style and craftmanship.
The biais cut is flawless, the corsetry the colors...It's beyond! With this collection she had really found the right way to mix Gianni and her own style. Gianni's daywear used to be very classical and bourgeois, very inspired by the masters.

Her own heritage is much more pop culture inspired than Balenciaga and Courreges and it shows. The daywear is fabulous!

If i was a stylist (even today), i would put my client in a lot of pieces from this collection.
Such a good memory!

^ Completely agree with you! This has become my favorite Atelier collection of Donatella's in spite of the fact that it wasn't love at first sight. I remember first seeing it when it debuted and finding the colors, patterns and styling kind of challenging and even ugly in spots.

It's almost as if "interesting" or "bold" were the primary qualities Donatella was after, with "sexy" and "glamorous" just happening to work their way in thanks to the waist/hip/butt-centric silhouette and very polished finishes, respectively. I mean c'mon, vertical stripes combined with a wasp-waisted '40s silhouette and colors from Toulouse Lautrec's paintings?! It shouldn't work at all, but it totally does.