Producers vs. Consumers

mikevensel

Reaction score
I am currious to hear other peoples opinions of fashion production vs. consumption. I am a producer of fashion products and since I have started my consumption of fashion goods has dropped dramtically. Now I see the consumer as a labrat that can be manipulated into mass consumption for profits. I dont want to be treated that way so my reaction is to reduce my consumption and really only buy what I need, I have a core classic wardrobe with a few of my fav designer peices. How do other fashion producers feel? How do the consumers feel that they are being forcefed product? In your post please state if you are a producer or consumer. Thanks =)

I'm a consumer, but I have dabbled a little on the production side as well...

Overall, when I'm shopping I'm looking for quality. It doesn't have to be designer, but it often is. I tend to ignore trendier pieces and go for basic or quirky stuff I might use for years. I don't really like the whole idea of disposable style/fashions...

"Now I see the consumer as a labrat that can be manipulated into mass consumption for profits." sounds very cold and cynic, btw... I understand it's a business, but still... Do you have respect for your customers, want to give them the best you can provide? How do you operate? What are you producing?

tott said:
btw... I understand it's a business, but still... Do you have respect for your customers, want to give them the best you can provide? How do you operate? What are you producing?

Well I am a bit odd - I didnt grow up in the fashion world I knida just jumped in - started a clothing line and a magazine. The consumer isnt as important to me as producing a product I can be proud of and control.