Education for a Career in Fashion?

emilia/

Reaction score
I find it very difficult to find out what people who work in the fashion business actually have studied and done to get where they are.

I'm in my last year of high school, and I'm interested in carreers such as fashion stylist, or something in that direction. Maybe work for a magazine, or for fashionshows.. But I am not sure of anything yet!

What I do know, is that I don't want to be a designer, and I have trouble finding schools/universities etc, that might help me in entering the world of fashion, without focusing on designing itself.

Therefor I ask:
What exactly is your job, if you work in the fashionbusiness?
and more importantly:
What did you do after highschool?
What did you do to get where you are now?

If you are wanting to work for a fashion magazine, maybe some form of journalism course would suit you? the actual stylist I believe you might need to have some form of design qualification.

i'm also finishing high school this year. i want to go into something in the fashion industry, and the advice i have gotten from people is to major in something i love, get a great education, and try to find a job that interests you. whatever you need to learn about that job, you will learn it ON the job! it's more important to be well-rounded than uber prepared for just one career. i plan on majoring in marketing, minoring in psych and some sort of design. do you know where you are going to school yet (if you are)? :rolleyes:

i am toying with the idea of going back to school to get a second degree in a design field...fashion design is one of the ones i am thinking of. while i think i have a good aesthetic for designs and interesting ideas, i lack technical experience (i.e. sewing skills). going into a career in fashion design would be a major shift of focus and i have little technical experience beyond the rudimentary techniques i have taught myself on my sewing machine so far.