Everyone's Doing It: Fashion Brands Take on Social Media

Discussion in 'Fashion... In Depth' started by Amelia, Oct 17, 2009.

View Users: View Users
  1. Amelia

Amelia neorealismo

From: http://www.wwd.com/media-news/everyones-doing-it-brands-take-on-social-media-2318508//?full=true

[​IMG]

2. Amelia

Amelia neorealismo

[source: wwd]

3. fashionchat

fashionchat New Member

Social Media and Magazines

Not even luxury brands seem immune to social media, but there certainly seems to be certain brands who are using social media better than others. I'm studying how traditional media is transitioning and subsequently translating to the online media world and the many different outlets that exist online. In that too, others seem to be able to translate their magazines into an online format that is more engaging and appealing for various reasons.

Right now I'm specifically studying Vogue and Vogue.com. Style.com used to be other online "home" of Vogue, but Vogue has started to make and build its own domain. But what do you think of Vogue.com? Is Vogue translating online the way you would like? Or would you like to see something different (Anna on twitter perhaps?!)

#3 fashionchat, Nov 20, 2009
    Last edited by moderator starrb81477: Jun 23, 2010
  4. MimiV

MimiV New Member

Personally I believe that luxury brands need to be very cautious with this new trend. On one hand these social medias are a great way for brands to attain a large audience at a low cost. Also, if your brand doesn't have a Facebook page, a twitter account, an iPhone application, etcetera, you risk to "fall behind" the competition.

However, the idea of all these sites, and internet in general, is that it is accessible to everyone (the masses) as opposed to the luxury industry which is based on rarity, elitism and non-accessibility to the masses.