Fashion Merchandising

sal0917

Reaction score
Majoring in Fashion Merchandising..what next?

Hi, I am majoring in Fashion Merchandising at LSU right now and I am a junior but I don't know what to do after I graduate. What are some career options that I could look into? Or would it be better to continue my education by getting a AAS degree in like Fashion Marketing or Advertising or getting a MFA in Fashion Merchandising? I guess what I really want to know is if by getting a MFA helps with my career later on...or is it just a waste of time? I really want to work at a magazine or I would like to own or help manage a boutique.

i'd take the AAS degree in Fashion Marketing if i was you sal,
it will give you a more 'spherical' education on industry which could be useful both for your own plans (boutique) and for freelancing consultancy ..
Marketing is very important

that's my major as well and I'm going into my jr. year. While I don't know exactly what I want to do either, I suggest doing an internship at something other than fashion merchandising (i did at a fashion magazine), and maybe take a summer workshop class at FIT. Anything additional you can add will give you more options.

ninkybink said:
that's my major as well and I'm going into my jr. year. While I don't know exactly what I want to do either, I suggest doing an internship at something other than fashion merchandising (i did at a fashion magazine), and maybe take a summer workshop class at FIT. Anything additional you can add will give you more options.

Thanks for the replies Lena and ninky...but do you mind if I ask which fashion magazine you interned at and what kind of things did they make you do? I will take my internship course next summer and I would loveeee to intern at a fashion magazine..particularly Nylon. Also, did you enjoy your time there??

im gonna go off topic here..but i didnt feel like i needed to make a new thread for my question...