Parsons School of Fashion, New York

boheme

Reaction score
1) Do you need a one year art foundation to go to Parsons?

2) Dont take this the wrong way but these kids in my class were talking about Parsons and one person was like "did you know that 80% of the students there are asians?" i just wanted to know if thats true

2nd one seems like a total exaggeration ... there are asians there, but not 80%, or at least when I went to visit I didn't have that impression.

Last edited by a moderator:
I did my bachelor of arts/fine arts with Parson's and Eugene Lang...
no more asians than whites, blacks, pinks or greens.

If you are transfering, they want to make sure you are profficient in the basics. You should have credits equivalent to their foundations progra, basically life drawing, color theory and all that jazz. Just to let you know, they're more critical of transfer students. it's pretty hard to transfer in, while going through their foundations into the bfa fashion program its pretty easy.

As for asians, I would say 80%, I would say something like 50%..it seems a lot of students are from korea. The school is, however, about 76% female. At least that's what they told us during transfer student orientation (and just to give you a number, they said 5500 students applied for transfers into parsons and they only accepted 161, this is for all of degrees. I believe fashion accounted for about 50 or so students)

From Collegeboard.com

(1st Year Students)

• 27% In-state students
  • 73% Out-of-state students
  • 0% Part-time students
  • 83% Women
  • 17% Men
  • <1% American Indian/Alaskan Native
  • 22% Asian/Pacific Islander
  • 5% Black/Non-Hispanic
  • 8% Hispanic
  • 30% White/Non-Hispanic
  • 23% Non-Resident Alien
  • 11% Race/ethnicity unreported

Tamar Stern said:
I did my bachelor of arts/fine arts with Parson's and Eugene Lang...
no more asians than whites, blacks, pinks or greens.

Pinks and greens???? I'm scared to go there now :neutral: