The Greatest Collections Ever Made

ignitioned32

Mannikin
Reaction score
Tip: Before you post (here) a collection that you think is one of the greatest think about it carefully, don't just post it because you like the outfits there. Think what or why did it become such a great collection and why was it right for that time or, lastly, did it do anything for this designer's career. Example The New Look of Dior in 1947.

Since I'm not that good at scanning and stuff, I'll just use text. Versace's 80's collections were amazing because the put Italian baroque in a new context. Ferragamo's 60's platforms were amazing because they had that ancient world look, but they were so colorful and cheerful, they were kitsch then and their classics now. And, I might get arguments for this one, but Vuitton's murakami was fabulous b/c it showed that you could be 150 yrs old and cool and colorful, and elegant and classic.

I may spark a little controversy here, but I believe that John Galliano's Spring '02 Haute Couture collection for Christian Dior is one of the greatest collection seen in recent history. I believe so because first of all it is one of the shows that saved modern couture esp. after Yves' retirement, second of all it showed couture was alive and well and showed John's maverick brilliance for taking worldy heritages and transforming it into modern clothes and it showed John can take a used idea make it new and venture it out and break new territory. You may also ask where, oh where, is the wearability in these outfits? First of all when you present a couture show it nice to show your idea and go wild with your fantasy plus the jackets with Mongolian flower embroidery are very wearable and all outfits could be re-worked in Dior's couture atlier.

Other critical acclaim:

From Style.com