why fashion designers don't wear the clothes they design

As a designer I like to wear my own designs but at the same time like to wear nice clothes in general. Most designers tend to be into fashion thus like to wear different kinds of styles. Other designers are more into their craft than dressing themselves..they are similar to artists and usually have a more scruffy look.
There are also designers that mainly wear their own designs to achieve a certain signature look and act liek some sort of advert like Donatella Versace, Georgina Chapman and John Galliano/

it's terribly self-centered of a designer to only design for himself or herself. further, most designers don't have the same background as their typical customer nor do they lead the lifestyle currently of most of their customers. even when they "make it," most don't flit away their time going to charity functions, award galas, exclusive nightclubs, elitist restaurants, and unreachable resorts where their clothes reign supreme. and when they happen to, many times you will find them in their clothes

^i find that terribly condescending of you to say that mike.

why do you assume all people that buy designer have a wealthy lifestyle? you're speaking only to one part of fashion not the whole. i own designer pieces but i am aeons away from being a jet setting socialite

and i don't think it's necessarily self-centered to wear one's own work. sometimes it's a lot easier because most times it's their personality and their soul that comes out in their work. i certainly could never imagine seeing ann demeulemeester wearing another's work because with ann's collections we see so much of ann in them already. same applies to somebody like vivienne westwood. their work is them. not just style-wise but everything that goes into creation.

Last edited by a moderator: