Fashion industry for foreigners?

addicted;D

Reaction score
Hey guys

I'm Julia, a junior college student majoring in art history and who's extremely interested in breaking into the fashion industry..
I love having talks about lifestyles, fashion, etc so much that I get even butterflies in my stomach.. (I bet most of people here do too:D)
However, since it hasn't been long since I've actually decided to have my career in the fashion industry, I have lots of inquiries about breaking into the field, and the forum has been a great help!

Since I'm an international student in US, even getting a work permit is not an easy job at all here let alone getting a decent job as a foreigner especially if you wanted to get a job in the field different from your original academic major..
so I wanted to hear from anyone who knows a bit about how usually foreigners enter the industry in US or any European countries..Is going to a fashion school the most popular way to take?
I'm planning to pursue a career as a stylist..(wanted to be a fashion journalist at first, but English as a foreign language somehow stops me...)
or anyone knows real stories about foreigners who made it big as a stylist in US or Europe?

thanks so much in advance and you guys rock...!

Last edited by a moderator:
not sure how this worls in usa but in europe its pretty easy to work as a stylist if you are real good in your work, have easy to work with personality and with a 'special' kind of personal style

Paris (and London) are both real good places for 'stylish' foreigners

thanks for the reply and glad to hear that!!
then should I focus on building my portfolio first..? I'm just starting from scratch since I'm not a fashion major.. although I've been studying a lot about aesthetics in general as an art history major..
does one usually start by applying for an assistant job in the cities that you've mentioned?

Lena said: