Your Magazine Restoration Tips & Tricks

Blayne266

Reaction score
Hey guys, I’ve been collecting magazines for many years and I’ve had multiple magazines that have been damaged slightly with either the silly ‘coMag’ stickers leaving residue on the covers or ball point pen on the inside pages. I was wondering if anybody has any tips or tricks for these resolving or reducing these issues? Thankyou

Great idea for a thread!

If the covers are glossy, wet wipes can do the trick of removing glue residue, but it's not always the case - especially with those pesky comag stickers! I'd also like to know if there's a way to deal with them.

Also another thing is humidity damage - you know, when the pages become tight and wavy next to the spine, so you can't fully open the magazine and it only goes halfway, other wise the pages crumple. Wonder if that can be fixed.

Eeek... I'd firmly stay away from using wet wipes on the covers of magazines, going from a past experience a few year back. It completely ruined the cover, soaked right through and made a hole... even when pressing lightly. Had to dash out and purchase another copy!

I've found the best solution to be heating the stickers with a hairdryer on medium heat, then using a plastic bank/store card to lift the edges and ease the sticker off. The heat melts the glue and allows the sticker to... unstick. It worked perfectly for me a few month back with a few copies of Vogue Spain, and even kept the gloss intact.

You might want to try this on a older/less precious copy first, however! I would hate to be held responsible for any disasters.

As a specific request today I bought Vogue Italia July 2005 (makeover madness) but the inside editorial has minor pen annotations, I’ve been searching all over for answers to only see people mention acetone but I’m worried it will ruin the pages, any past experiences with this?