Anette Stai

justaguy

Staff member
Reaction score
anette_stai_smi_0001.jpg

The Fashionista is proud to present an interview with a firmiliar face in the industry! Anette Stai, born 1961, is a noted model from Norway, and the first winner ever of the Supermodel of the World contest in 1980. I met up with her in Oslo, after returning from New York and Mercedes-Benz fashion week.

First of all. How did your career begin?
Everything started back in the day, when I was a student at Trine’s Mannequin School. It was my mother that decided for me, because the Queen had studied there, and I guess she wanted me to learn about poise and such. I also started working for a model agency in Oslo. I am the first model to ever win the Supermodel of the World competition, in 1980, and thanks to Eileen Ford, this was when it all started working out for me. All those beautiful pictures, and a week in Monaco, it was a teenage dream come true.

What expectations did you have? Did you set yourself any goals?
I had very few expectations, because this was all new to me at the time. When I was younger, I wanted to become a vet, and where I grew up, we had horses. I guess I was a tomboy at the time. I slowly wrapped my head around this modeling business, and the goals came after a while. To be frank, I wasn’t sure what goals one should set in that business.

Now that you have experience in the business, would you say that the business is as tough as people tell you it is, or is that all the media presentation?
It’s as tough as they say it is, and even the strongest can fall. Much is based out of luck, and even more on the looks. If you don’t have what people are looking for, you’ll simply get a slap in the face. I was lucky, and because of Eileen Ford and the victory in the competition, I had a «flying start». I also had a very good mentor. None other than Polly Mellen, a fashion editor of Vogue! She tought me a lot!

What is the biggest moment of your career?