Jim Nelson

kiD GQ

Reaction score
Jim Nelson is the current Editor-in-Chief of GQ Magazine, succeeding Art Cooper. More interesting, he is from the DC Metropolitan area. We don't focus much on editors of men's magazines, and I think GQ is like the Vogue of men's magazines: It's a perfectly equal combination of lifestyle and fashion. So I think it's fitting to have a thread for Jim Nelson.
Jim Nelson

JOB: Editor in chief for GQ magazine
HOURS/WEEK: About 65
TIME ON THE JOB: 4 years

How did you get started in the media industry?

This is actually my third career. I started out in TV news. I worked as a writer and producer at CNN in the mid-'80s. I started out as an intern . I just kept begging people to let me write copy and a couple of people gave me a chance.

What was your second career?

I worked on sitcoms as a writers' assistant, which means you sit around the room with a bunch of writers and ... when someone says a joke, you have to get it down and then read it back, and if it's not funny then it's your fault. I like the team effort of it but I just didn't feel control over it.

So, you made the move from TV to magazines?

Back then, magazines like The New Yorker and Harper's [Magazine] were my favorites. At age 30, I got an internship at Harper's - I was a few years older than everybody else there. I [stayed] for four years until '97, whereupon the glossy world started to lure me. [Editor in chief] Art Cooper offered me a job as a senior editor at GQ in 1997. When Art left, in 2003, I got his job.

What is your daily routine like?

There are no borders in my working life. I'm kind of on all the time, through e-mail and Trios and all that stuff. If it's earlier in the month, I'm trying to plan and organize future issues, reading manuscripts and talking to editors about ideas. As the month progresses, the window of time gets narrower and narrower, then everything gets much more scheduled by the minute.