Kim Gordon Capsule Collection for Sportmax

lucy92

Mod Squad Team Leader
Staff member
Reaction score
Despite two fashion lines under her belt and a signature cool style that women envy, Sonic Youth co-founder Kim Gordon doesn't consider herself a fashion designer.
"I'm an artist," said Ms. Gordon. "I'm really interested in how fashion works for people in different ways. It is mostly marketing and branding, kind of how you can put on a dress and something can make you feel good, but it doesn't add anything to you, unless it's building an image."
If Ms. Gordon sounds flippant, she isn't trying to. When discussing her famous rocker reputation she said, "I don't really even consider myself a musician."
Still, Ms. Gordon was yet again tempted by the fashion lords when approached by Italian luxury label Sportmax to collaborate on the second chapter of their Carte Blanche, "white paper," series. Mostly recently, she completed the Rizzoli book, "Performing/Guzzling."
"They have a longstanding fashion reputation. They're fabrics are beautiful and they make great coats. They're also interested in art," she said.
But that doesn't mean Ms. Gordon, who calls herself "casual" and spent her summer in "Levi cut-off shorts, baggy and oversized T-shirts and Rachel Comey sandals" is exactly a patron of the brand.
"I can't really afford their stuff," she said.
Working with a palette of grays, blues and blacks, Ms. Gordon created three limited-edition pieces—a dress ($275), tunic ($225) and T-shirt ($135)—inspired by abstract watercolors.
"It's kind of influenced by the tree and wood grain [found] where I live in Northampton [Mass.]. There are these beautiful long tree branches and then there's the Mill River that empties out in Paradise Pond," she said.
While Ms. Gordon was pleased with every iteration of her work, her favorite was the tunic because of its "leafy, feathery feel."