Otis College of Art and Design - Los Angeles

Casualuxury

Reaction score
I recently went on an interview at this college, and I liked it a lot. I find out in 3 weeks if I'm accepted. If anyone attends this school, please let me know what you think of it and how life is in Los Angeles.

I wish I could've gone there. They were asking for 18 studio art credits as a sophmore transfer when I only have about 6.:cry: GOODLUCK!:D

I attend

Even though I'm not yet into my major, I'm in my second semester of foundation, I really can't wait to start fashion. I am personally in love with my school, well at least with the fashion department. Every time I walk around the halls and look at the student work I'm just blown away.

What I think that is great about Otis fashion dept is that it's the only country in the nation that has the designer's mentor program which basically invites designers/companies to become junior and senior class mentors and give them design directions and such where at the end of the school year you have the annual fashion show. I think this is great because it gives you that real work experience while in school. The fact that they've beaten out Parsons and all the other fashion schools in the country as the title for best in school for the past recent years including 2005 awarded by the CFDA is impressive. In my opinion in terms of educationi Otis is the best.

I hope you get in, if you do just be advide that you will be working non stop even in foundation year. You really won't have time for a social life unless you want your grades to suffer.

If you have any questions let me know. I can definetly try to answer some.

DriversHigh said:
I wish I could've gone there. They were asking for 18 studio art credits as a sophmore transfer when I only have about 6.:cry: GOODLUCK!:D

why don't you start off at foundation level at otis, i'm pretty sure they would take the 6 credits you have, it's just that you would still be considered a foundation student.