Shooting Stories for a Stylist's /Fashion Editor's Portfolio

RedRach

Reaction score
Help! I've been living in Eastern Europe for almost 2 years and it seems that I'm finally getting my break into the fashion world. A friend of mine has been hired as the photo editor of a new western European magazine which will begin syndication here soon. It seems that I will be interviewed for the position of Fashion Editor, but other than modeling a little myself, I have MINIMAL experience. (The people at the magazine seem more interested in my western fashion taste and the fact that I can read fashion magazines published in English than that I have lots of experience.)

They need a portfolio of my work in 2 weeks-YIKES!

So my main question is where should I concentrate my efforts? I need to get at least 3 strong, mass-market shoots in the book.

*I've got one scheduled for this weekend called "Special Delivery" where a blonde model will be trekking across the city with a giant bouquet of purple or orange flowers as if she were a delivery girl. The clothes will follow the flowered theme with solids layered for variety. Blouses, cropped sweaters, breezy skirts, etc. Chunky jewelry. Natural light. The photographer is good.

*I also plan to do one shoot in studio highlighting summer wear, capitalizing on 4-5 different trends from last month's Vogue (US). Basic white wall, maybe with some "hot" lighting to set the mood, same photographer.

*If you could choose a 3rd shoot what would you reccommend? There is a nice bar that I could use with simple, square, red furniture and gold walls but I'm drawing a blank as to what trend to highlight there...

sigh...

Basically I thought that I had 2 months to pull it all together and now I find out that I have 2 weeks. This doesn't even touch the language barrier that I have to deal with when borrowing from the shops.