Some opinions please...

Lagstar

Reaction score
First post!

Anywayz.. I'm at a bit of a crossroads at the moment with furthering my career in fashion. I'm currently studying Fashion Design, in an accelerated one year course. I'm nearly at the half-way point, and its been non-stop stress from the beginning. The director and main instructor at the school is moody and volatile, two of the other teachers are damn near useless, but at least our patternmaking and sewing teacher is brilliant, as is the illustration teacher. I won't go into detail, but every day is hell and half the time we're expected to teach ourselves! Constantly two of the teachers tell us to 'work it out ourselves' if we approach them with a query or problem. Anyway... I have basically learnt all the information I need, and the next 6 months will be spent putting it into practice. I have already constructed 10 garments, and am confident in all the following aspects:

Design and illustration
Trend analysis
Mood board creation
Body measurement
Fabric sellection
Pattern Making
Trade sketching - on computer and by hand
Industry spec sheets and manufacturer instructions
Toile construction and adjustment
Garment styling and catwalk presentation
Speaking in front of a judging panel
Graphic Design
Brochure Design

I'm sick of the way we're treated at the school and the unreasonable deadlines we're given. I'm seriously considering leaving.
I have a few thousand in savings, and have someone who is willing to possibly invest if I can present a suitable concept.

Do you think the above skills are enough to drop out of my course and start my own label? I believe I have the talent to present a brand image that will sell. I'm on the edge, and wouldn't mind some outside opinions.

Cheers!