Careers / Jobs / Positions in Magazine Publishing

acester

Reaction score
Hi last night I realised something,

I couldn't sleep and grabbed my paper pad and attempted to draw..I cannot draw even though there is some serious talent on both sides of my family. I sat there for a while thinking when my thoughts came to magazines (vogue inparticular) and I got to work at doing a draft copy of a vogue. I really enjoyed it I did the cover,content and even the advertisements.

I'm not sure whether it was good but I realised...that maybe because I love it so much I could have a career it in. Like designing the layout, cover, the photographs and stories.

I know there are many careers that include these kinds of things. Could you please tell me some off them. So perhaps I know where to start.

:flower:

im young but it must feel great to know what you want to do in life:D

I currently work for a magazine. Planet Magazine. I'm an in-house illustrator.

Some of the positions the my mag and most mags have are

editor - design wise, they're the ones that communicates with the art director in regards of the look of the magazine and makes final decisions on things like cover..etc

art director - someone who basically oversees how everything is designed. Layouts, images, illustrations, text, covers..and tells those working under him/her how something should look.

Then you have all those designers. Most are just plopped as Designers. Taking care of things like layout, covers, images...etc. They're the ones doing all the nitty gritty. Except at my mag our art director does the design as well, since we're a startup. She has 2 interns that help her though.

Basically if you're interested in design aspects of a magazine, its best to look into getting a degree in graphic design. Programs you'll want to know are Adobe In-design, photoshop and illustrator. Then look to score a job at a startup magazine and put in your dues and work your way up the ladder :smile: