Leaving college for starting a clothing line?

madeline20

Reaction score
Hi! I have only done a year in a good college and I have realized that what I'm studying (history and geography) is nothing that I want to do in the future. The job market is really bad with history graduates in general (I don't want to be a teacher or a scientist) I am basically in the school because of my parents, I have tried really hard to 'get interested' in studying, but I feel like being creative and artistic is so much in my core personality that I really need to do it for the rest of my life. So I have thought about leaving school and starting my own fashion label. I have a good business plan, I've already created a collection and been talking about it with a few people on the field, and they have encoureged me to do this... But my question is, is it really worth it? is the field really superficial and would I get bored with it after a few years? From my thinking style I guess I'm more on the deep side... But I am very very visual in everything I do, and I can't concentrate on reading and facts in school right now. I am also very independent and always doing my own thing, that's why I feel like I could also succeed in business. Anybody else in the same position? Should I just follow my intuition and jump in?

I think you feel that way because maybe you didn't think very well when you were in school about your future, but I understand that you feel like "I can't do nothing else except draw, design things, ....". Well, my personal though is you should start to create your fashion label, but at the same time, don't leave college because, if something gets wrong in your fashion career, you can in someway defend because you have a paper that said that you were in college.