Pharrell Williams - Designer, Creative Director of Louis Vuitton Menswear

Well, as fashion designers' image has been degraded by "designers" like Demna, I welcome less weird humans such as Pharrell.
The bad news is he wouldn't be wearing Chanel and Hermes for a while.

I do not see this lasting that long for some reason. Could be very wrong, but I don’t. As I said in the other thread, I like Pharrell as a MUSIC PRODUCER, but as a fashion designer, I don’t see it.
It will last and it will be very successful. Virgil was the menswear designer through WhatsApp. Pharrell can totally be the same. He will give ideas, oversee a lot of things but he won’t be in the studio like Nicolas Ghesquiere.
He will be out there, in red carpets, in music videos, people will name drop him maybe in songs and everything.

It will be a success and I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s good actually. The news itself and what it represents is more annoying to me.

This seems like a non-event mainly because he has done collabs with them before and seems like someone who would already wear the clothes. While that makes sense on paper, I don't think the hype-beasts of today are chasing Pharrell like they did Virgil. The collab he had with Adidas may have sold well but it wasn't a hot coveted item that sold out immediately which is where the hype is usually created. It is clear they are headed into the same-y streetwear element as before but hopefully it will be more refined.

They must be fuming at WSJ for leaking it, had rush that press release out the door lol