Art History - where can you go from here?

loggi

Reaction score
I'm seriously considering a BA in the History of Art, but I'm not sure about the kind of fields, jobs, careers, it could take me into other than the curatorial field. Has anyone chosen to do this degree, and if so, could you enlighten me as to the options I may have from here? Thank you! :D

I graduated last year with a BA in Art History and I too wanted to avoid the curatorial field. Right now am working in a major advertising agency. I also have had past internships with fashion designers and Public Relations firms. I think that Art History majors tend to convey a general sense of creativity but also an academic smartness that appeals to a wide range of industries. I think you'll have no trouble getting a job in many different fields if you wanted.

I remember going to a Majors Fair at my university. I have had a huge fascination with art history especially Renaissance art. I remember grabbing a pamphlet that listed jobs associated with getting an Art History degree, and the first thing on the list was "museum curator." :flower:

I graduated last year with a BA in Art History and I too wanted to avoid the curatorial field. Right now am working in a major advertising agency. I also have had past internships with fashion designers and Public Relations firms. I think that Art History majors tend to convey a general sense of creativity but also an academic smartness that appeals to a wide range of industries. I think you'll have no trouble getting a job in many different fields if you wanted.

Wow, that sounds exactly like the kind of thing I'd like to do; I think both advertising and Public Relations sound really interesting. How did you manage to get such internships?

I just basically sent my resume/CV out to several places that I knew of. My current job in advertising came from just that.