College Degree...but a Lousy Job

Erin

Iowa Girl Loves Fashion
Reaction score
Can anybody else relate?

I graduated last year with a Bachelor's in Marketing, and I find myself at an office job now making a measly salary. I work in an office half the time by myself, and if it's not by myself, it's with the developer for the "business" I work for.

I feel totally unimportant. I'm his assistant, get handed all the crappy jobs and tasks, and have ended up being his family's PT personal assistant (I work out of his home office in the basement). For instance, his wife would ask me to water their plants in the afternoons. Or, like today, I'm to go pick them up from the airport.

What gives!? I think I need to add more to my resume (graduate school aside). I've been thinking of joining the Peace Corps in order to get the experience that'll give me that extra edge.

Does anybody find themselves in a similar situation? Or are just plain in a job that they do not hate, and are mildly ashamed of doing?

Oh Erin...It sounds like they are taking advantage of you. You did not work so hard all those years to be an assistant/miscellaneous for the family. I hope you are able to get another job where you are appreciated. Just keep sending out resumes, I am sure something better will come along. You deserve so much better. Best of luck to you.

Hi Erin,

I feel your pain :( I too graduated w/ a marketing degree (in May). but I have yet to find a job in the field at all. I did 2 internships so that I would have experience on my resume. However, right now I am working as a waitress, and i am not cool with this at all. I know it is what i have to do, but I hate doing a job you can do w/o a high school diploma when I have a bachelors. And i hate being talked to like a five year old by restaurant mgmt.

The positive side to this is I am getting interviews. I am waiting to see if I get an offer from a research company in Denver, and have an interview in NYC next week.