Majors and corresponding fashion careers

dks0910

Reaction score
After getting a degree in fashion design?

I just want to know once i get a degree in fashion design, will i be able to pursue a different career in the fashion industry(like merchandising, marketing, etc.) or am i just stuck with becoming a designer?
Also after a degree or diploma in design what are your options?

Last edited by a moderator:
I was also wondering something similar to this. For instance, if you get a degree in Fashion Design, would you be able to work as a fashion editor or writer for a magazine too?

normally, no

normally, no. if that's what you want to do then i would recommend that you go for fashion marketing/communications or art history or journalism or communications degrees.

why would you put yourself through the pain of design school (sewing your fingers included and tons of nights in the lab) just to style a fashion shoot?

that having been said, i graduated from fashion design and now i decided i want to go into editorial. so...i'm doing a master's in communications and interning at fashion mags.

The reason I was inquiring about this was because I have heard of several cases in which a person had a degree in fashion design and then worked in both fields. ^_^

it's not unheard of, of course. many people don't actually work as "designers" after coming out from design school.

but my point is that it's harder to switch since the degrees are so specific about what skills you'll learn (as opposed to, say, a cultural studies or english lit degree) for fashion. the more abilities and experiences you have then the easier it would be to to different things after school finishes.

for example, if i hadn't gotten good marks in my fashion degree then it would've been impossible to get into an academic grad program. or, if i hadn't interned/worked in fashion and made contacts years ago then getting a mag. internship would be harder.