What am I doing with my life?

prettypouf

Reaction score
Hey guys--
I'm posting to ask for advice, more or less. I'm 19 and not yet in college-- the reason I haven't gone (I graduated in June of '09) is that I am too confused with what I want to do. My family had me relocate to south dakota (I'm originally from pittsburgh) and I had been accepted into the art institute of Pittsburgh for Fashion Merchandising. I wasn't able to go, and I have told myself that merchandising may not be what I want to do, but I'm still very unsure.

I'm not sure what I want to do or what I want to get into, and I'm not sure where to even start. As for what I like about fashion, I enjoy the shows and the presentation-- I would love to sit down and review shows, talk about them or write about them-- I'm not sure if I have the creative mind for design, but then again I just don't have the experience.

Could someone give me a push in the right direction, or send any ideas my way? I'd love to get off the ground with this, I feel like I need to find my personal goal and "personal legend" in life before I feel complete...

pretty... you're not the only one! I'm 20 and I like many other people our age still don't know what my "true calling" is. I think that's life though, the process of figuring out what we truly want especially at this age. I didn't start university until this year and it was the best choice i made. For 2 years I had time to travel and discover myself more, then when i return to school i was ready and serious! best advice i think i can offer you is do what you truly feel is right, don't let anyone force you, rush you, worry you. do what's best for you, if you have the slightest doubt merchandising isn't for you follow your instincts. :wink::flower: