Quitting Cigarettes

Fade to Black

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I need your help/advice on this issue...I've been smoking cigarettes for 2 years now (started smoking regularly at the beginning of freshman year of college), and I've decided that I want to quit. I actually tried quitting last summer, and I lasted about 8 hours. I went to bed that night saying "Alright I'm not smoking anymore starting now" and the next day went all the way until dinner, it was the worst 8 hours of my life. It's even harder when I'm at school because I'll be studying and working, and it's draining. At the end of a chapter I'm reading or whatever I'll start to get this internal restlessness, like my head's getting kind of heavy and I *NEED* that cigarette to calm me down and make me feel normal again, like stopping that machine inside of me from churning and rumbling.

I have 3 packs left, and after I'm done with them I'm not going to buy any more cigarettes, because I've decided I'm going to seriously quit for real this time. Now is the perfect time because school's about to end, so I figure that's it, I'm out of the game. I'm not even going to bother with the nicotine patch because that's still nicotine getting pumped in my system...

But I know it's going to be hell...I'm going to get that feeling inside again, my insides are going to start itching, my whole body is going to get restless and twitchy and I'm going to be edgy and irritable, my leg will start shaking and if anybody so much as looks at me I'm going to flip out. So my question for you guys is: Have any of you ever successfully quit smoking? How did you do it, and how did you cope with the side effects? Please share your thoughts here, any advice is much appreciated.

Ok, I have completely stopped yet (still have one or two a week :doh:) but I am working on stopping completely and I've cut back a lot.