Serena, Fashion Ace

tangerine

Soviet Camaro
Reaction score

SERENA TO PLAY BALL ON THE CATWALK
Tennis star Serena Williams has her heart setting on becoming a fashion designer after she retires from the court.
The leggy sportswoman, 22, has already studied fashion at college and wants to convert her red-carpet outfits, which she designs herself, into a Serena Williams label.

Williams explains, "I'm not going to be able to play tennis forever, so I'm going to have to find something else to do.

"I love fashion and I'm deadly serious about it. It's not a hobby. I've been doing sketches since I was 8 years old."

Williams has already debuted some of her designs at celebrity events and has even created a gown for beauty queen Miss New Jersey.

She says, "I have also designed an outfit for Miss New Jersey to wear at this year's Miss America awards. She fell in love with one of my designs so she's going to be wearing my dress on the red carpet."

Williams recently signed a $36 million deal to create tennis dresses for Nike.

Source

Anyone have more info about Serena's designs?

I actually remember hearing about something like this before, in regards to her designing abilities. I think that she may actually be fairly legitimate in her venture, which is an nice change is the world of celebrity designing. :flower:

Im not a fan... at all... of celebrity designers, but for once i would actually like to see what she's got. ITs good that she is dead serious and its not just another business venture to profit off of.

If her self-designed red carpet outfits are any indication- um, no thanks.

I don't know if she's got any vision, but if she does I feel sorry for her. Many people *will* chalk this off as another celeb 'fashion' venture even though it doesn't seem to be. :flower: