yearbook or newspaper, which will help more?

diorable

Reaction score
hello!

i was wondering...is newspaper or yearbook better and beneficial for someone who would like to work in fashion editorial work later?

Uhm...Both...

Just lie (thats what I did!)

Love your name too...

I'd say newspaper. Tighter deadlines, and more room to grow creatively. A yearbook is once a year. Newspapers are far sooner than that.

Yeah, I agree with fourboltmain. Newspaper. (I'm a little biased, as well. I was editor-in-chief of my high school newspaper, and I'm writing for my college newspaper.) :wink: :flower:

I was a photographer for my high school's yearbook, and it was a great experience for me as a photographer because I had a lot of creative freedom (I basically just carried a camera with me at all times during school and snapped photos of anything exciting/interesting that was going on). ^_^ Yearbook seems more creative for photographers because it isn't all "Take photos of this teacher... Take photos of this sports team...", it's more about what you find interesting to capture. But, if writing is your thing, Newspaper is the way to go!

At our school, they basically tell you that if you want to be a journalist, take newspaper/journalism, but if you want to be a photojournalist, take yearbook. Photography is best if you want to be a fashion photographer, obviously. :flower:

I've taken both courses in the past two years and found them to be thoroughly worthwhile. I took Journalism first, two years ago, and was the Graphics Editor. I wrote three articles per issue and was responsible for the front/back cover designs and layouts. I think that the course definitely encouraged me to pursue my interest in journalism/publishing.