American / United States Fashion Schools

ShesElectric

Reaction score
Okay, first I guess I should say that I can really only speak english and am looking for a couple of ideas as to which schools it would be best to attend for Fashion Design as I have to make a decision really soon...

I live in Toronto but would rather go to a school in New York or London or Los Angeles or anywhere where I would benefit and language wouldnt be a problem...

Lastly, I don't have these amazing drawing skills... I can get around but I'm no pro (I'll show you an example) and I want to be a fashion designer because I just naturally have the ability to look and feel a kind of fabric and just come up with a whole collection out of it - you know what I mean? It's just a passion, I love fashion.

ALSO

Are there any skills I would be struggling through school without, besides creativity? Or will most of the technical stuff be taught?

Attachments

• one of them.JPG
    one of them.JPG
    116.8 KB · Views: 69
Last edited by a moderator:
i would recommend

otis college www.otis.edu
Parsons www.parsons.edu
fit www.fitnyc.edu

the thing with parsons and otis is that they would rather not see fashion sketches, they want to life drawing and work that doesn't relate to what you plan on majoring. life drawing, observational drawings are the most important thing in your portfolio. parsons requires you to also submit a home test in addition to your portfolio to get in.

in my portfolio that got me accepted to parsons and otis, i included some photography, 3d design, 2d design, life drawing and painting.

FIT is the only school of these three that would actually require you to do fashion sketches.

jeffrey0806 said:
life drawing, observational drawings are the most important thing in your portfolio. parsons requires you to also submit a home test in addition to your portfolio to get in.

Life and observational drawings? What exactly does that mean?:blush: