Replace ballet flats with?

FashionGrrrrl said:
I hardly think my Lanvin flats are played out, or have a student look...especially at over $500 a pair. I can afford these and I'm a student but I do not represent a typical student. Maybe the ones with little bows or whatever have a younger look but to me the plain ones are just plain rounded toe flats, not little girlie shoes. They're classic and I'm going to wear them forever. It's like saying the pointy toe stiletto pump is played out just because everybody is wearing it at the moment.

For 30cm of snow...snow boots. Bring along a pair of shoes to change into indoors if you like.

Sometimes I feel as if I'm one of the few people here living in the "real world" and a lot of people have lost touch with it. :innocent:

I just had a look at some of those $500 Lanvin flats, and I must say that if I saw someone wearing them I would have no idea that they were so expensive. They look the same as a $10 pair to me. A ballet shoe is a ballet shoe. It may be of a better quality, a slightly nicer shape, but the overall effect will be the same.

Perhaps this whole discussion is dependant on where you live and how old you are. As a 20 year old from London, I feel that ballet flats were hard to pull off in the first place, especially living in a cold and wet country, and as someone who works I believe that they do not look professional, even if can do look smart.

I agree they are very comfortable and versatile, but there is no structure to the shoe, and whilst it is ok for students (I am also a student) to look so 'comfortable', I'm finding that ballet flats seem to signify the Topshop brigade - something I dont want to be a part of.

They do have the look of slippers, and I dont dispute that they can be flattering, but they can also make you look stumpy and quite childish.

Maybe my attitude would change if I lived somewhere hot and where I felt I could incorporate them into an outfit and still look grown up.